The priest, my father

Anne-Christine Loranger
2 min readMar 13, 2023

--

A poem from the Rumbles from the Grinder series

Photo by Sebbi Strauch on Unsplash

My father.

My father was a priest.

My father was an excommunicated priest.

My father was an excommunicated priest who married a nun.

My father was an excommunicated priest who married a nun and had a child.

My father was an excommunicated priest who married a nun, had a child, and cheated on his wife.

My father was an excommunicated priest who married a nun, had a child, and cheated on his wife with her friends.

My father was an excommunicated priest who married a nun, had a child, and cheated on his wife with her friends and family member.

My father was an excommunicated priest who married a nun, had a child, cheated on his wife with her friends and family member, and created a second family with her.

My father was an excommunicated priest who married a nun, had a child, cheated on his wife with her friends and family member, and created a second family with her, which did not work out.

My father was a man.

My father was a man who kept his heart on an altar.

My father was a man who kept his heart on an altar in a secret ceremony.

My father was a man who didn’t know how to love me.

NB.: If you liked that poem,
you might enjoy Let the judges go!
here on Medium.

--

--

Anne-Christine Loranger

Autobiography in six words: Father? Priest. Mother? Nun. Me? Buddhist.